Communicator of the Year

The 2017 PRemier Awards Committee will present the Communicator of the Year award to an individual from the area who has demonstrated communications excellence. This award will honor a person whose contributions have occurred in part, or in whole, because of particularly effective work in the areas of public relations, marketing, media relations or general communications.

Submit a Nomination

There is NO FEE to nominate an individual for this award. Simply email the following information to no later than 5pm on Friday, September 29, 2017:

  • Nominee’s name
  • Nominee's current job title and company
  • A brief description (up to 500 words) of the nominee's qualifying work


A review panel will select a group of finalists from the pool of nominees. These finalists and/or their nominators will then be asked to provide additional information for the final selection committee to review. The top finalists will be notified prior to the awards ceremony. The winner will be announced at the PRemier Awards banquet Tuesday, Nov. 14 and will participate in a casual Q&A discussion with the group. Self-nominations are accepted and encouraged!

Examples of potential communicators of the year include, but are not limited to:

  • Investigative reporter who uncovered and communicated an important community issue.
  • Internal communications expert who navigated through a difficult merger or other internal issue.
  • Marketing professional who came up with a new concept that transformed a company’s brand.
  • Top executive who successfully navigated a crisis situation using specific communication tactics.
  • Professional whose idea launched a company’s new campaign or identity.


Past Communicator of the Year Award Recipients:

2017 -- Tricia Garrison, Communications and Education Coordinator, NEW Water

2016 – Aaron Popkey – Director, Public Affairs, Green Bay Packers

2015 – Megan Mulholland, APR – Director, Media & Public Relations, ThedaCare Health System

2014 – Dick Knapinski – Director, Corporate Communications, Experimental Aircraft Association

2013 – Dana Bzdawka – Team Leader, Public Relations & Communications, Bellin Health System

2012 – Rachel Lom – Owner, Write Image, LLC


Questions? Contact the Awards Committee at